Old Dog and Coyote Wisdom Tale

 

 

Have you ever made your own comic? Well I have and I’m here to tell you all about it.

First and foremost, the person who helped me the most with drawing was Brittain Peck. He is an artist. He showed us how basic objects can become characters. The app that helped me the most with my drawing was Sketchbook. Now, you may be asking, “What is her blog post about?” It’s about a wisdom tale. A wisdom tale is a story that has a lesson or moral. Some of the stories include, Talkative Turtle, The Useless Tree, and Parts of the House Argue. Some of the types of wisdom tales are a fable, tall tale, or myth. Personally, my favorite type of wisdom tale is a fable. These include talking animals or inanimate objects. The wisdom tale my comic is about is a fable called The Old Dog and Coyote. 

Old Dog and Coyote is about, you guessed it, an old dog and a coyote. This story is from The Americas Mexico Otomi. This story’s moral is to be kind because kindness always comes back. The old dog lived on a farm and one day a wolf came and tried to eat the farmer’s chickens. The farmer was furious and scolded the dog. The dog went to the desert and saw a coyote trying to jump a cactus. The coyote didn’t make it over and got spikes all over him. The old dog decided to help get the spikes out. The coyote was so happy he decided to help the dog. The coyote then went to the farm and pretended to try to eat the chickens. The dog growled and the farmer was very happy. 

I chose this story because I thought it was a very meaningful lesson. We have been reading many stories since late September. We first researched the evolution of stories. Then, we learned the different types of stories. We’ve been working on this since September so I’m pretty excited that it’s done. This story also stood out to me because of the animals. Like, who doesn’t love a story about animals? 

I am definitely not a drawer. The thing I love about Sketchbook is that there is a way to make layers. This enables you to only have to go through the pain of drawing something once. Sketchbook has a very big color panel. If you need a certain color, Sketchbook most likely has it!

I encourage you to try to draw your own comic. It was a lot of fun and a great experience! 

One Reply to “Old Dog and Coyote Wisdom Tale”

  1. I love the detail you added in your comic. Your blog post was also super informative! Good job.

Leave a Reply